Audrey Tautou

Audrey Tautou was born in Beaumont in Puy-de-Dôme, France on August 9, 1976. Her rise to fame as a young actress was swift and marked by early success. Following her studies, in 1998 she took part in a French talent-scouting TV programme, Jeunes Premiers, sponsored by Canal+, and won Best Young Actress at the Beziers Festival of Young Actors, before beginning her acting career in earnest. She pursued a modelling career alongside her acting career, and is the face of L’Oreal, Mont Blanc, and Chanel, often referred to as ‘The Chanel Muse’. She also has a serious interest in photography, and recently produced an exhibition of her work, at the Arles Festival, under the title Superfacial.

Training
Due largely to her parent’s support of her aspirations, Tautou was able to study at Cours Florent, a drama school in Paris. Initially only enrolling in a two-week summer school, the school offered her a place on its full-time programme, which Tautou combined with a literature degree at the Sorbonne. Following graduation, she set herself a time limit of a year to pursue an acting career, which came to fruition with the Canal+ Jeunes Premiers TV programme, and recognition at the Beziers Festival of Young Actors.

Audrey Tautou Schauspiel studieren
Roles
Audrey Tautou shot to stardom and international fame with her first major role, starring as the lead in "Le Fabuleux Destin d'Amelie Poulain". Amelie won international acclaim, box office success, and was acclaimed at awards ceremonies across the globe. It remains the highest grossing French language film in the US. Following this success, Tautou starred in a wide range of films, from British dramas like Stephen Knight’s "Dirty Pretty Things", to Jean-Pierre Jeunet’s "Un long dimanche de fiançailles", and moving into Hollywood with Ron Howard’s direction of the Dan Brown bestseller, "The Da Vinci Code", alongside Tom Hanks. More recently, Tautou has played the lead in the Coco Chanel biopic, "Coco Avant Chanel", taken the role of Simone Melchior in The Odyssey, and appeared in French rom-com "La Delicatesse".

Awards and achievements
Tautou’s career has been marked with continuous recognition by awards ceremonies the world over. Amelie won Best Film at the European Film Awards, and won four Cesar awards, two BAFTAs, and nominated for five Academy Awards. Tautou herself won Best Actress at the Lumieres and Sant Jordi awards, and was nominated as Best Actress for nine further awards including a BAFTA, a Cesar, and a European Film award. She was again nominated for Best Actress at the European Film awards for "Dirty Pretty Things", and for Best Actress at the BAFTAs, Cesars and Lumieres for "Coco Avant Chanel". Her latest nomination was a Globes Cristal award for Best Actress for "The Odyssey".

Audrey Tautou

Audrey Tautou wurde am 9. August 1976 in Puy-de-Dôme geboren. Als Schauspielerin legte Tautou einen Blitzstart hin: Kurz nach Abschluss ihrer Ausbildung (noch bevor ihre Karriere richtig losging), nahm sie 1998 an einer Talentshow des französischen Fernsehsenders Canal+ teil und wurde beim Nachwuchs-Filmfestival in Béziers als beste Schauspielerin ausgezeichnet. Neben ihrer schauspielerischen Tätigkeit arbeitet sie auch häufig als Model. Sie ist das Gesicht von L‘Oréal und Chanel (Tautou wird oft als eine der „Musen von Chanel“ bezeichnet) und Markenbotschafterin für Mont Blanc. Sie interessiert sich auch für Fotografie und stellte vor einiger Zeit im Rahmen des Filmfestivals in Arles einige ihrer Arbeiten unter dem Titel „Superfacial“ aus.

Ausbildung

Dank der Unterstützung ihrer Eltern konnte Tautou die Pariser Schauspielschule Cours Florent besuchen. Zunächst war sie nur für einen zweiwöchigen Sommerkurs eingeschrieben, erhielt dann aber einen Vollzeitplatz und studierte nebenher Literatur an der Sorbonne. Nach Abschluss der Ausbildung setzte sie sich für den Start ihrer Schauspielkarriere eine Frist von einem Jahr, die sie aufgrund ihrer Teilnahme an der Talentshow von Canal+ und der Auszeichnung beim Filmfestival von Béziers auch einhielt.

Schauspiel studieren
Rollen
Audrey Tautou wurde durch ihre erste Hauptrolle in "Die fabelhafte Welt der Amélie" (Le fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain) über Nacht zum Star. Der Film war international überaus erfolgreich, räumte weltweit zahlreiche Preise ab und ist bis heute der umsatzstärkste französische Film, der je in den USA gezeigt wurde. Nach Amélie spielte Tautou in sehr unterschiedlichen Filmen, von Stephen Knights "Kleine schmutzige Tricks" (Dirty Pretty Things) über Jean-Pierre Jeunets "Mathilde – Eine große Liebe" (Un long dimanche de fiançailles) bis zum Hollywood-Blockbuster Sakrileg, Ron Howards Verfilmung des Bestsellers „The Da Vinci Code“ von Dan Brown, in dem sie neben Tom Hanks zu sehen war. In "Coco avant Chanel" verkörperte Tautou die junge Coco Chanel, in "Jacques - Entdecker der Ozeane" (L‘odyssée) die Entdeckerin Simone Melchior und in der romantischen Komödie Nathalie küsst (La délicatesse) eine Frau, die sich nach dem Tod ihres Ehemanns neu verliebt.

Auszeichnungen
Audrey Tautou konnte im Verlauf ihrer Karriere zahlreiche internationale Filmpreise entgegennehmen. Amélie wurde bei den Europäischen Filmpreisen zum Besten Film gekürt und gewann vier Césars, zwei BAFTAS und fünf Oscar-Nominierungen. Tautou selbst brachte der Film einen Prix Lumières und einen spanischen Filmpreis als beste Hauptdarstellerin sowie neun Nominierungen als beste Hauptdarstellerin (unter anderem BAFTA, César und Europäischer Filmpreis) ein. Weitere Nominierungen als beste Hauptdarstellerin gab es für "Kleine schmutzige Tricks" (Europäischer Filmpreis) und für "Coco avant Chanel" (BAFTA, César und Prix Lumières). Zuletzt wurde Tautou für ihre Rolle in "L‘odyssée" für einen Globe de Cristal nominiert.